Skip to Content


Latest book awards - Merton

Book Awards

Every year there are a number of awards presented to authors and books. You will find these titles available for loan in your local library. Below are details of some of the latest awards that we support.

Children and Teenage Book Prizes

Blue Peter Book Awards

The Blue Peter Book Awards have been running since 2000 and invite submissions from publishers for children's book published in the previous year. A shortlist of three fiction and three non-fiction titles are announced in December with the winner being announced in March on the children's television show Blue Peter.

The Blue PeterBook Award 2015 Shortlist has been announced in December. For full details visit the Blue Peter Website.

Most recent winners of the Blue Peter Book of the Year Award

2014 Best Story: Rooftoppers-  by Katherine Rundell
2013 Best Book with Facts: Tony Robinson's weird World of Wonders: World War II by Tony Robinson
 2013 Best Story: Tom Gates - Genius Ideas (Mostly) by Liz Pichon
2013 Best Book with Facts: Horrible Science: House of Horrors by Nick Arnold and Tony De Saulles
2012: The Considine Curse by Gareth P Jones
2011: Dead Man's Cove by Lauren St John
2010: Frozen in Time by Ali Sparkes

Carnegie Medal

The Carnegie Medal is a literary award, established in 1936 in honour of Scottish philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, given annually to an outstanding book for children and young adults. It is awarded annually by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP). A shortlist is usually announced in March with the winer being announced in June. 

Most recent winners of the Carnegie Medal

2014: Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks
2013: Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner
2012: A monster calls by Patrick Ness
2011: Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness
2010: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman


Kate Greenaway Medal

The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955 for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs. It is awarded annually by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people. A shortlist is usually announced in March with the winer being announced in June. 

Most recent winners of the Kate Greenaway Medal

2014: This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen
2013: Black Dog by Levi Pinfold
2012: A monster calls by Patrick Ness (illustrated by Jim Kay)
2011: FArTHER (not a spelling mistake) illustrated by Grahame Baker-Smith
2010: Harry and Hopper illustrated by Freda Blackwood (text by Margaret Wild)

2012 was the first year that both the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals have been won by the same title.

Adult Book Awards

Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize, sponsored my Man Group plc, promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and even publishers. The winner receives £50,000 and both the winner and the shortlisted authors are guaranteed a worldwide readership plus a dramatic increase in book sales. For more information visit the Man Booker website.

Most recent winners of the Man Booker Prize:

2014: The Narrow Road to the Deep North  by Richard Flanagan
2013: The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
2012: Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
2011: The sense of an ending by Julian Barnes
2010: The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

The 2012 winner was "Bring up the Bodies"  by Hilary Mantel. She became the first woman and first Briton to win the prize twice! The book is the sequel to "Wolf Hall", which won the prize in 2009.

Bailey's Prize for fiction

Originally know as Orange Prize for Fiction, the Bailey's Prize for Fiction is the UK's most prestigious annual book award for fiction by international female writers, celebrating excellence, innovation and accessibility. The winner receives a cheque and a limited edition bronze figurine known as the ‘Bessie', created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. For more information visit the Women's Prize for fiction website.

Most recent winners of the Bailey's Prize for Fiction

2014: A Girl is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride
2013: May we be forgiven by A.M. Homes
2012: The song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
2011: The Tiger's Wife by Téa Obreht
2010: The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards are a series of literary awards given to books by authors based in Great Britain and Ireland. The awards, launched in 1971, are given for high literary merit as well as for works that convey the enjoyment of reading to the widest possible audience. Each year, winners are chosen from shortlists in six different categories namely Best first novel, Best novel, Children's book, Poetry, Biography and Short Story. One of the category winners is then selected as the Costa Book of the Year. For more information visit the Cost Book Award website.

Winners in all categories 2014:

First Novel: How to be both by Ali SmithNovel: Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey Children's Book: Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders Poetry: The Overhaul by Kathleen Jamie
Biography: H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

Poetry award: My Family and Other Superheroes by Jonathon Edwards
Overall Winner - Costa Book of the Year 2014: H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards

Each Autumn, The Crime Writers Association (CWA), founded by John Creasy in 1953, and best known for its prestigious Dagger Awards, collaborates with sponsor Specsavers to celebrate the best crime fiction of the year. The shortlists are announced in August with the Winners being announced at a ceremony on ITV3 in October. For more information visit the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards website.

Specsavers National Book Awards (The Book Oscars)

Dubbed the ‘Oscars of the publishing industry,' The Specsavers National Book Awards showcases the best of British writing & publishing, whilst celebrating books with wide popular appeal, critical acclaim and commercial success. In 2012 Specsavers took over the sponsorship of the awards from Galaxy. The shortlists are announced in November, with the winners celebrated at a ceremony shown on ITV1 in December. For more details on the awards visit the National Book Awards website

Winners in all categories 2014:

  • Outstanding Achievement – Mary Berry CBE
  • Crime/Thriller Book of the Year – I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes (Transworld)
  • Magic FM Autobiography/Biography of the Year – Please, Mister Postman by Alan Johnson (Transworld)
  • Food & Drink Book of the Year – Plenty More by Yotam Ottolenghi (Ebury Publishing)
  • Children's Book of the Year – Awful Auntie by David Walliams (HarperCollins)
  • Audiobook of the Year – Awful Auntie by David Walliams (HarperCollins)
  • International Author of the Year -We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler (Profile Books)
  • Books Are My Bag New Writer of the Year – The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton (Pan Macmillan)
  • Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year – The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer (HarperCollins)
  • Non-fiction Book of the Year – Love, Nina by Nina Stibbe (Penguin Books)
  • UK Author of the Year- Us by David Nicholls (Hodder & Stoughton)