Electoral registers and poll books

Electoral registers and poll books

Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre holds electoral registers for the local area dating from 1906.

  • lists of names of people entitled to vote, arranged by address within each polling district in each constituency
  • it is not an alphabetical list of voters
  • to comply with legislation we cannot provide information on any electoral register which is under 10 years old by telephone, email or letter
  • we do not allow any of our electoral registers to be photocopied, photographed or scanned if they are less than 10 years old
  • the electoral registers and poll books for 1734 to 1965 are also available on Ancestry.com which is freely available at Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre and all Bexley Libraries
  • registers of electors from 1832 are held at the Kent History and Library Centre. Visit kentarchives.org.uk for more information.

Electoral registers held at the Centre

Area Years covered
Old Bexley and Sidcup Constituency 1984
Sidcup Constituency (see also Chislehurst) 1971 to 1983
Bexley Constituency (see also Dartford) 1945 to 1970
Chislehurst Constituency (includes Sidcup) 1935, 1938, 1945 to 1953, 1955 to 1970
Bexleyheath Constituency 1971
Erith and Crayford Constituency (see also Dartford) 1955
Dartford Constituency (includes Bexley, Crayford and Erith) 1937 to 1939, 1945
Erith parish and borough 1906 to 1919, 1926 to 1954

Poll books

Area Years covered
Kent 1734, 1754, 1790, 1802
West Kent 1835, 1837, 1847, 1852, 1857, 1859, 1865
Our services > Local Studies and Archives > Collections and archives > Family and local history collections > Electoral registers and poll books